Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the SCC?

“The School Community Council (SCC) is comprised of parents, school employees, and the principal.  The Council has statutory responsibilities to develop the School Improvement and LAND Trust plans which are focused on increasing student achievement in our school and may include provisions for professional development.  Throughout the school year, the SCC reviews school data, identifies academic needs, sets measurable goals, establishes action steps to reach those goals, and evaluates success of the plans.  This gives parents and school employees opportunity to be involved in the decision making process at the local school level.

The SCC is responsible for determining how the LAND Trust funds are used in our school.  When Utah was granted Statehood, parcels of land were placed in a perpetual Trust with the children of Utah as beneficiaries.  Revenues from these lands go into the Permanent State School Fund.  The dividends and interest of that fund are distributed annually to each public school in Utah.  

We would like to invite any parent interested in serving on our School Community Council to contact Mindy Robison, the principal, or any council member. Members of the School Community Council develop the Comprehensive School Improvement Plan by analyzing student achievement data to determine the school’s most critical academic needs. The council helps to establish academic goals for the school and charts a course of action to meet these goals and maximize student achievement. The council monitors data to chart progress of the school’s plan throughout the year. In addition to setting the school’s improvement plan, the council oversees the allocation and expenditures of the School LAND Trust Plan which provides the school with monetary resources to accomplish the goals established by the school improvement plan.

2020-2021 LAND Trust Allotment:
$120,646.59

2020-2021 TSSA Allotment:
$111,910.00

2020-2021 Midvale School Council

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting. Download PDF SCC Roster

Voting Community Members

Alyssa Powers – Chair
801-706-9543
alyssapowers@gmail.com

Lindsey Butrum – Parent 
lindsayannab@gmail.com

Cynthia Perez  – Parent
edanddan87@gmail.com 

Jennifer Seltzer Stitt – Parent jenseltzer@hotmail.com

Alicia Woodward – Parent alicianwoodward@gmail.com

Mac McCann – Vice Chair
macmccann79@gmail.com

Rebecca Martin – Parent
rebecca@martin-family.net

 Jeanette Dummer – Parent
jeanettedum@gmail.com

Debbie Platz – Parent
debbie.platz@gmail.com

Emily Wall – Parent 
emwall79@gmail.com

Amy Coleman – Parent
accoleman1@gmail.com

School Personnel Serving and Voting

Mindy Robison – Principal
801-826-7300
mindy.robison@canyonsdistrict.org

Geralynn Barney – Community Facilitator 
801-826-7300
geralynn.barney@canyonsdistrict.org

Shelley Allen – Teacher & MYP Coordinator
801-826-7300
shelley.allen@canyonsdistrict.org

Tamara Taysom – Teacher Representative
801-826-7300
tamara.taysom@canyonsdistrict.org

School Personnel Observing (non-voting members)

Courtney Long – Assistant Principal
801-826-7300
courtney.long@canyonsdistrict.org

Connie Simmons – Assistant Principal
801-826-7300
connietrue.simons@canyonsdistrict.org

Bryan Rudes – Assistant Principal
801-826-7300
bryan.rudes@canyonsdistrict.org

Amy Skelton – School Counselor
801-826-7300
amy.skelton@canyonsdistrict.org

2020 - 2021 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held virtually through Google Meet at 5:30 p.m.

  • September 2, 2020
  • October 7, 2020
  • November 4, 2020
  • December 2, 2020
  • January 6, 2021
  • February 3, 2021
  • March 3, 2021
  • April 14, 2021
  • May 5, 2021

2020-2021 Minutes, Agendas, and Reports

2019-2020 Minutes, Agendas, and Reports

Translate »