Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the SCC?

“The School Community Council (SCC) is comprised of parents, school employees, and the principal.  The Council has statutory responsibilities to develop the School Improvement and LAND Trust plans which are focused on increasing student achievement in our school and may include provisions for professional development.  Throughout the school year, the SCC reviews school data, identifies academic needs, sets measurable goals, establishes action steps to reach those goals, and evaluates success of the plans.  This gives parents and school employees opportunity to be involved in the decision making process at the local school level.

The SCC is responsible for determining how the LAND Trust funds are used in our school.  When Utah was granted Statehood, parcels of land were placed in a perpetual Trust with the children of Utah as beneficiaries.  Revenues from these lands go into the Permanent State School Fund.  The dividends and interest of that fund are distributed annually to each public school in Utah.  

We would like to invite any parent interested in serving on our School Community Council to contact Mindy Robison, the principal, or any council member. Members of the School Community Council develop the Comprehensive School Improvement Plan by analyzing student achievement data to determine the school’s most critical academic needs. The council helps to establish academic goals for the school and charts a course of action to meet these goals and maximize student achievement. The council monitors data to chart progress of the school’s plan throughout the year. In addition to setting the school’s improvement plan, the council oversees the allocation and expenditures of the School LAND Trust Plan which provides the school with monetary resources to accomplish the goals established by the school improvement plan.

Funding Distribution History

LAND Trust Funds TSSA Funds
2020-2021$120,647$111,910
2019-2020$115,488
2018-2019$107,991
2017-2018$87,169
2016-2017$57,229

2020-2021 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.

Alyssa Powers - Chair, Parent
Term: Year 1
alyssapowers@gmail.com
8017069543
Mac McCann - Vice-Chair, Parent
Term: Year 2
macmccann79@gmail.com
Shelley Allen - Teacher & MYP Coordinator
shelley.allen@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Geralynn Barney - Community Facilitator
geralynn.barney@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Lindsay Butrum
Term: Year 2
lindsayannab@gmail.com
Amy Coleman
Term: Year 2
accoleman1@gmail.com
Jeanette Dummer
Term: Year 1
jeanettedum@gmail.com
Rebecca Martin
Term: Year 1
rebecca@martin-family.net
Jennifer Paul
Term: Year 1
Jen.paul13@comcast.net
Cynthia Perez
Term: Year 1
edanddan87@gmail.com
Debbie Platz
Term: Year 2
debbie.platz@gmail.com
Jennifer Seltzer Stitt
Term: Year 1
jenseltzer@hotmail.com
Tamara Taysom - Teacher Representative
tamara.taysom@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Emily Wall
Term: Year 1
emwall79@gmail.com
Alicia Woodward
Term: Year 1
alicianwoodward@gmail.com
Courtney Long - Assistant Principal (Non-Voting)
courtney.long@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Bryan Rudes - Assistant Principal (Non-Voting)
bryan.rudes@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Connie Simons - Assistant Principal (Non-Voting)
connietrue.simons@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300
Amy Skelton - School Counselor (Non-Voting)
amy.skelton@canyonsdistrict.org
8018267300

2020-2021 Annual Plans & Reports

    Click here to access translatable, accessible LAND Trust Plans & Reports.

    2020-2021 Meeting Schedule, Minutes and Agendas

    All meetings will be held virtually through Google Meet at 5:30 p.m.

    Translate »